Installs: Wednesday's 10am-2pm Pull up to garage door 2 off of Adelaide Street
Officer Brian Gillis installs another car seat
Have you been meaning to have your child safety seat inspected by a certified technician?
The Wilmington Police are now offering weekly safety seat installs at PD without an appointment!
The Wilmington Police Department will be conducting Child Safety Seat Inspections and Installations at the Public Safety Building on Wednesdays between 10:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. No appointments are necessary, however it is strongly encouraged that you call ahead to make sure a technician is available. The importance of properly fitted Child Safety Seats is self evident, as a minor crash or even a sudden stop can seriously injure a child who is not riding in the right type of car seat. You can reduce the risk by buckling your child into a properly fitted safety seat every time they ride in the car.
The Wilmington Police Department continues to improve and promote public safety within the community and encourages citizens to take advantage of this valuable service. If you have any questions, please call us at 978-658-5071, thank you.
Pull up to door 2, Wednesday's 10-2!
Tips for "best practices" when driving with children as passengers:
Children should be in rear-facing infant seats from birth to 1 year AND until they are more than 20 pounds.
Children 1 to 4 years and 20 to 40 pounds should ride in a forward-facing child seat.
Children who have outgrown a child safety seat, typically when they are over 40 pounds or 5 years of age, should transition to a booster seat which assists in the proper fit of a safety belt.
Children must be in a federally approved child passenger restraint that is properly fastened and secured until they are 8 years old OR over 57" tall.
Children 12 and younger should never sit in the front seat. The safest seating position is in the back seat, away from air bags if possible.
Children 13 years of age or older should ride in the front seat, but should position their seat as far back as possible from the air bag.
Always wear your lap and shoulder belt when driving -- it protects you in case of a crash and it sets a good example for children.
The Massachusetts Child Passenger Safety Law was amended in April 2008 and as of July 10, 2008 requires children to ride as passengers motor vehicles in a federally approved child passenger restraint that is properly fastened and secured until they are 8 years old OR over 57" tall.
The expanded law will require a booster seat/safety belt combination for children who have outgrown a child safety seat - typically when they are above age five or 40 pounds - until they are 8 years old OR over 57" tall.
The Massachusetts Safety Belt Law requires safety belt use by those 13 years of age and older.
Chief of Police - Michael R. Begonis
Disclaimer The Wilmington Police makes no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the contents of this web site and expressly disclaims liability for errors and omissions in the contents of this web site. No warranty of any kind, implied, expressed or statutory, including but not limited to the warranties of non-infringement of third party rights, title, merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and freedom from computer virus, is given with respect to the contents of this web site or its hyperlinks to other Internet resources. Reference in this web site to any specific commercial products, processes, or services, or the use of any trade, firm or corporation name is for the information and convenience of the public, and does not constitute endorsement, recommendation, or favoring by the Wilmington Police. This site is the property of the Wilmington Police, no photos or other information may be used without the written consent from the Wilmington Police Department.